Two forms of access control

As an admin or content owner, you may want to limit access to some of your content to specific groups or individuals. There are two ways to do this.

Limit content to certain groups

A robust catalog offers content that targets specific groups of people, like manager training tracks that do not apply to individual contributors or events for engineers that do not apply to salespeople. You can use groups to control access to content.

To learn more about using groups for access control, see PlusPlus 101: Organize users and control access to content with groups.

Hide content

You can designate content items as hidden, which makes them visible in the content catalog only to users with elevated access (admins and site owners). These users see hidden content in the catalog with a crossed-eye icon indicating it is not public. You can share the URL for hidden content with anyone in your org, allowing them to access and engage it directly.

Solution

To set access control on content:

  1. Go to the content item you want to set access control for.

  2. Open the context menu (button with three dots) and select Edit.
    Content item details open. This is the same view you see when creating new content, so you can set access control during the creation process as well.

  3. Open Access Control and select one of three options:

    1. Public for everyone - the content is discoverable and accessible to anyone with access to your instance of PlusPlus

    2. Hidden - only visible in the catalog to users with elevated access (admins and site owners) but can be shared with anyone via URL

    3. Hidden and restricted, except for the following groups - only visible in the catalog to users with elevated access and the group(s) you specify; all users can open with direct URL but only assigned group members and owners can engage
      This option displays the Selected Groups field, in which you specify the groups with access to the content.

  4. Save your changes.

Go deeper

Hiding content versus using groups

Hiding content items makes them visible only to users with elevated access (admins and site owners) while also granting access to anyone with the content item’s URL. We recommend setting content to hidden when you’re in the process of building it and don’t want it available to the whole org yet. And, since you can share hidden content directly through a URL, this is a good option for sharing a one-off content item that only a few people should engage. You can also hide content within a track.

With groups, you can make content items visible and accessible only to people in certain groups. Groups are thus the longer-term, more sustainable solution for access control.

See also

Did this answer your question?