This article is best for system administrators and organizers. Too small? Click here.

Switch and Merge are only available when Online Enrollments are active. Please check our article How to separate online and local Enrollments for Events for more information.

Imagine you have an event that's planned to happen locally in your HQ and multiple people are enrolled. All of a sudden, the presenter tells you they're only going to be able to present it virtually.

Changing each enrollment method manually would not be a viable option. That's why PlusPlus introduced enrollment conversion.

We have two different types of enrollment conversion:

1. Switch: for when your event supports one enrollment method only.

2. Merge: for when your event supports two enrollment methods.

Since we gave that example above, in which we only support one enrollment method, let's start out with switch. Feel free to skip over to #2 "Merge Enrollments" in case it better fits your needs though!

1. Switch Enrollments

Switch will be your go-to for when you have an event that only supports one type of enrollment method. Example: an event that allows In Person enrollments but not Online ones.

You can switch enrollments for an event by heading to the page of the event you want to change, clicking the gear icon and choosing "Edit event".

To switch, you just need to head over to the Enrollment & Capacity section and click the "Switch" button.

You can also increase or decrease the enrollment capacity as you see fit.

The waitlist capacity is always defined by the system on switches. See lower FAQ for details.

We have that rule in place because we never want to kick out any attendees, so if there aren't enough spots for everyone, we will move overbooked enrolled attendees to the waitlist.

PLEASE NOTE: By increasing the enrollment capacity, waitlisted attendees may be promoted.

Don't forget to save so your changes can be applied.

You can also undo your changes before saving in case you've changed your mind.

2. Merge Enrollments

As for merge, here's another situation. You have an event that was supposed to happen both In Person and Online. Your presenter unexpectedly tells you they'd rather present it In Person only after noticing low adherence in Online enrollments.

This is where Merge Enrollments comes in. This conversion method will take any enrollments and merge them into your chosen enrollment method.

You can merge enrollments for an event by heading to the page of the event you want to change, clicking the gear icon and choosing "Edit event".

To merge, scroll down to "Enrollment & Capacity". After that, click the merge button.

If the amount of enrollments surpasses the enrollment capacity, the waitlist will be increased to fit everybody who couldn't make it into the going list.

You can also increase or decrease the enrollment capacity as you see fit.

The waitlist capacity is always defined by the system on merges. See lower FAQ for details.

We have that rule in place because we never want to kick out any attendees, so if there aren't enough spots for everyone, we will move overbooked enrolled attendees to the waitlist following this priority:

1. Enrolled people from merged enrollment

2. Enrolled people from chosen enrollment

PLEASE NOTE: By increasing the enrollment capacity, waitlisted attendees may be promoted.

The priority list for promotions works as follows:

1. Enrolled people from merged enrollment

2. Waitlisted people from chosen enrollment

3. Waitlisted people from merged enrollment

Don't forget to save so your changes can be applied.

You can also undo your changes before saving in case you've changed your mind.

TL;DR - Give me the FAQ

When is the Switch Enrollments button available?

The switch button will be available whenever you edit an event that only has one chosen enrollment method (In Person or Online).

When is the Merge Enrollments button available?

The merge button will be available whenever you edit an event that has two chosen enrollment methods (In Person and Online).

What happens when I click switch?

The system will replicate the capacities that were set for the old enrollment method.

You'll be able to edit the enrollment capacity freely. The waitlist capacity is defined by the system. The waitlist capacity equals the sum of all attendees minus the enrollment capacity.

If full, overbooked attendees will be waitlisted, no attendees will be removed from the event.

What happens when I click merge?

1. System joins both enrollments into chosen one

2. System keeps enrollment cap from chosen enrollment

3. System defines waitlist cap by summing overbooked attendees

What happens if I decrease the enrollment capacity?

Your attendees will never be kicked out. If you decrease the enrollment capacity for an event that has more enrolled attendees than spots, our system will automatically increase the waitlist capacity and move the exceeding users to the event's waitlist.

For switch enrollments:

Lastly enrolled attendees will be moved to waitlist.

For merge enrollments:

We will first demote people who were merged into the chosen enrollment method, as they do not have priority over people who were already enrolled through that enrollment method.

1. Enrolled people from merged enrollment

2. Enrolled people from chosen enrollment

Example: if an event gets merged into Online and the enrollment capacity is decreased, we will always demote people who were originally enrolled In Person before doing so to people who were originally enrolled Online.

How does the system decide who gets moved to waitlist?

PlusPlus will always respect the chronological order of enrollments, from newest to oldest. That means that, for example, if 2 out of 10 people need to be moved to the waitlist after a decrease in the regular enrollment capacity, the last two users to have enrolled to that event will be the chosen ones.

What happens if I increase the enrollment capacity?

For switch enrollments:

If there are any waitlisted attendees, they will be promoted until the enrollment capacity is full.

For merge enrollments:

This is the priority list for promotions:

1. Enrolled people from merged enrollment

2. Waitlisted people from chosen enrollment

3. Waitlisted people from merged enrollment

How does the system decide who gets promoted to enrolled?

The system will always promote waitlisted enrollments in chronological order, from oldest to newest, that means the first people to have entered the waitlist will be the priority if there's an increase in enrollment capacity.

What if I convert an event that does not have any attendees enrolled yet?

Your event will have its enrollment method changed.

Did this answer your question?